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Homestead  Exemption 
2023 Requirements 

 

1. Own your home as 

your principal place of 

residence on January 

1, 2023. 

2. At least age 65, or to-

tally and permanently 

disabled. (Proof of Dis-

ability required) 

3. Ohio Modified Adjusted 

Gross Income in 2022 

of $36,100 or less. 

Charles E. Walder 
Geauga County Auditor 

About Us 

The Real Estate Division of the Geauga County 
Auditor’s Office administers the Homestead Ex-
emption Program in accordance with Ohio Re-
vised Code §323.151, §323.152 and §323.153 

 

 
 
Phone: (440) 279-1604 
Fax:     (440) 286-4359 
Email: auditor@co.geauga.oh.us 
Web: www.auditor.geauga.oh.us 
 
 

 

 

FILING DEADLINE: 
December 31 

Annually 

Charles E. Walder 

Geauga County Auditor 
231 Main Street, Suite 1A 
Chardon, Ohio 44024-1293 



IMPORTANT NOTICE 

 

Veterans Disabled? 
The homestead exemption pro-

vides a reduction in property tax-

es to qualified disabled veterans, 

or a surviving spouse, on the 

dwelling that is that individual’s 

principal place of residence and 

up to one acre of land of which 

an eligible individual is an own-

er. The veteran must have a disa-

bility rating of 100% or 100% 

compensation based on individu-

al unemployability for a service 

connected disability. The reduc-

tion is equal to the taxes that 

would otherwise be charged on 

up to $50,000 of the market value 

of an eligible taxpayer’s home-

stead.  

New Applicants—Must Meet 2023 Income Re-
quirement 

The Ohio Legislature added an additional requirement to the Homestead 

Exemption Program for new qualifying applicants in 2014. There is now 

an income requirement based on the Ohio Adjusted Gross Income of  the 

homeowner (and spouse).  

2023 Qualification Requirements 

The Homestead Exemption Program helps Ohioans age 65 and older (or to-

tally and permanently disabled)  that own their home as their principal place 

of residence with assistance on their real estate tax bill. The local political 

subdivisions are reimbursed by the State for any savings provided to the 

homeowner. The Homestead Exemption Program can result in significant 

savings on your property tax bill.  The savings is calculated on $25,000 of 

taxable value (limited to the home site) and varies by taxing district. To 

qualify, homeowners must be  (1) at least 65 years of age  or totally and per-

manently disabled,  (2) Own their home as their principal place of residence, 

and (3) have an adjusted gross 2022 income that does not exceed $36,100   

Are you Disabled? 

Homeowners that are certified by a 

physician as being permanently and 

totally disabled on January 1, 2023 

are excluded from the age require-

ment, but would still need to have a 

qualifying income. 
The Modified Adjusted Gross In-
come for 2022 Must Not Exceed 
$36,100.  

 

Homestead Exemption 

2023 Tax Savings 

   Maximum    $ 679.42 

   Average      $ 458.36 

   Minimum     $ 360.08 

Current Applicants: 
If you are currently receiving the Homestead 

Exemption based on a 2013 and prior applica-

tion, you do not have to meet the 2022 in-

come requirements and will remain on the 

program. You may have to file a DTE 105G 

with your application 


